This new law requires a county health department to issue a mobile reciprocity license to Maryland mobile food service facilities that meet the requirements set forth in MD HEALTH-GENERAL Code Ann. § 21-304 (f) and that are in compliance with COMAR 10.15.03. The new law prohibits a county, under certain circumstances, from requiring that a mobile food service facility be inspected before issuing a mobile reciprocity license. A county health department may not charge a fee exceeding $300 for a mobile reciprocity license. A county health department that issued a mobile reciprocity license is authorized to inspect the mobile food service facility while the mobile food service facility is operating in the county; and to take certain enforcement action against the mobile food service facility.
To qualify for a Mobile Reciprocity License, the mobile food service facility must:
• Be in full compliance with the Maryland Food Service Regulations - COMAR 10.15.03;
• Hold a valid license from the [Maryland] county of origin;
• Have a Base of Operations or Commissary located within the county of origin;
• Operate within 90 miles of its Base of Operations or Commissary.
The Code of Maryland (COMAR) Regulations 10.15.03 for Food Service can be obtained by clicking the following link:
• A plan review fee of $100 and a HACCP plan review fee of $75, payable to the Frederick County Health Department, are required at the time that plans are submitted.
• Facilities that will serve potentially hazardous food that has been removed from the original packaging must also submit a menu and HACCP plan. A facility’s HACCP plan addresses safe food handling procedures and training based on the facility’s specific menu items. The link below gives additional information and samples forms for developing a food service facility’s HACCP plan.
• Facilities should verify that the proposed work is in accordance with applicable building, plumbing, zoning, Fire Marshal, and Environmental Health Services requirements prior to constructing.
• Facilities must obtain written FCHD Food Control Office permission after construction is complete prior to stocking food or food service items.
• For transfers of existing food service facilities currently in operation. Call the Food Control Office at 301-600-2542 to schedule a transfer inspection.
• At this time, food service facility staff is not required to be food handler training certified. A number of organizations do offer food handler training for interested parties. Links to these sites are on our FAQ’s page.
All new facilities or transferred facilities must complete an application and an emergency contact form to apply for a Food Service Facility License. These documents must also be resubmitted annually by each facility for food license renewal. All Food Service Facility Licenses expire each year on January 31st.
Facilities that offer only non-potentially hazardous commercially pre-packaged foods such as canned soda, packaged snacks and canned goods do not require a food service facility license provided the facility is not pouring, opening, or repackaging the food items.