Create an Account - Increase your productivity, customize your experience, and engage in information you care about.
(Frederick County, MD, May 31, 2018) – The Frederick County Health Department reminds county residents that there is an open burning ban in effect from June 1st through August 31st. Open burning permits cannot be used during this time period. This ban does not apply to small recreational fires such as campfires, the use of barbeques, or gas grills. The annual ban, which is required by the Maryland State Air Quality regulations, first went into effect in June 1995. The ban extends throughout the Metropolitan Washington Air Quality Region and is designed to reduce the high ozone levels that affect the region during the summer months, allowing for better air quality. The ban is not related to rainfall. The FCHD would also like to remind residents that when burning is allowed, an open burning permit is required from the Health Department. Permits can be obtained by visiting the FCHD, Environmental Health Office located at 350 Montevue Lane or by printing an application from our website and mailing it along with your check to the FCHD. http://health.frederickcountymd.gov/344/Open-Burn-Permit Violations of the open burning ban or open burning without a permit is subject to a fine of up to $500 under the Frederick County Code and up to $25,000 under Maryland State Regulations. Burning of household trash is not allowed at any time of the year. For additional information, contact the Community Services in the Environmental Health Services Division of the Frederick County Health Department at 301-600-1717.